Please Help Me Optimize My Electricity Usage

AZ_Pool

I won't lie, the pool pump sure has increased my electricity bill.  Duh, right?  I know what you are saying: "Having a pool ain't cheap buddy!"  I hear ya.

However, I'm concerned with few things:

1. We are two years into our pool, and the pump settings are the same as the day the builder put the pool in.  My guess is they weren't worried about my electricity bill, just keeping the pool clean until I got settled in and forgot about them.  I'd guess they leaned toward running the pump for longer than necessary every night.

2.  My settings are the same year around (details below).  I'm no expert (that's why I am here) but I'd guess the pool pump needs to run less at certain points of the year.

My goal is to get advice on how I should run it during various time periods throughout the year.  I am happy to adjust it based on "swim season" and "non-swim season" or something as complicated as adjusting it once a month, or perhaps a compromise in between where I adjust it 4 times a year.  I'll leave that up to your expertise.  I also was told our system is "upgraded" with a dual-speed pump.  However, I don't see how to adjust those speeds.  I only see associated "circuits" in the software, with no apparent way to adjust the "circuit" settings.

These are my details:
Pool size: 13,000 gallons
Pool type: Salt
Autofill
In floor "pop-up" cleaners
Pebble finish
Pump type: Intelliflo VSF
Pump setting #1: "Cleaner" 9pm-1am, daily
Pump setting #2: "Pool" 9pm-8am, daily
Managed via: Pentair IntelliCenter2 Mobile App
Filters cleaned every 3 months.  Easy basket twice a week, sealed baskets once a week
Water tested at local pool store, brought back into balance as needed.

Thank you in advance for any advice you may offer.

On 10/5/2023 at 11:21 AM, AZ_Pool said:

with a dual-speed pump

Intelliflo VSF