Is Spa Water Really Safe For Garden?

arnspa

We have a Master spa H2X Crosstrainer 2, 1300 gals. I've drained it into barrels and was planning to use it to water trees in the yard. (We have 4-5 months zero rain) I've read here posts that say Sure, no problem, but elsewhere I've seen warnings that plants cannot tolerate such water.

I had been putting chlorine, etc, in it for 6 months. I let sit for a week before draining, open to the sun. In the barrels, after 2 months I see that what look like salt rings have condensed near the bung hole. I worry that this stuff may be much too salty.

Is there any way of testing or judging this? We have fruit and citrus trees I don't want to harm. Still, I hate to run all this water down the drain. Any wisdom about this?

Thanks,

Thanks for your reply. It's not chlorine I'm worrying about so much as salts. I've been using Sodium DsTD. I understand the chlorine burns off, but what's left?

Some garden sites warn about using salt water from (fish) pools and spas. One says it's OK for grass but not edibles.

I think it's may be typical of garden sites to be overcautious, and spa sites to be the opposite.

I've read that Bermuda grass can take much more saline water than, say, Kentucky blue, but I have no idea what the tolerance is for lemon, pear, plum, apple, persimmon, avocado, etc. I'm reluctant to experiment with such trees. Still, I'd hate to be putting 2600 gals down the drain every year when we could use that water if it's safe enough.

Is there an easy way to measure water salinity, and to tell whether it will harm trees? Are there Ag sites that have info on salinity, etc?

Thanks again,

Thanks for your reply. It's not chlorine I'm worrying about so much as salts. I've been using Sodium DsTD. I understand the chlorine burns off, but what's left?

Some garden sites warn about using salt water from (fish) pools and spas. One says it's OK for grass but not edibles.