Newbie- Looking For Advice On Where To Begin?

junebug

Hello Everyone, I am new to this sight but have been reading many of the forum's posted and it has been quite overwhelming to me. My husband and i are getting ready to venture out and look at hot tub's. Where does a person begin as far as what brand's to start with and questions we need to ask. We are looking for at least a 5-6 person tub. Any and all advice would be greatly apprecaited. Help!!!!

1. Find out what dealers & stores are in your area.

2. Write down all the brands names you find.

3. Search for information about them here, as well as rhtubs dot com and whatsthebest-hottub dot com (both of which have user reviews)

4. If you're feeling overwhelmed, start by looking at Arctic, Artesian, Dimension One, Hot Spring, Jacuzzi, Marquis, and Sundance. Go to their respective web sites & see if they have dealers anywhere near you.

5. Visit the dealers and WET TEST the models you're interested. Sitting in one dry can help, but a wet test makes a big difference.

6. Come back here to report your thoughts & ask questions.

7. If you're only looking at tubs from "dealers", be prepared for fans of Costco and other big box stores to bite your head off. :rolleyes:

8. If you're only looking at tubs from big box stores, be prepared for me & other fans of "dealer tubs" to bite your head off. :P

9. Despite the attacks, retain your head.

10. Choose the spa that's best for you.

11. Buy it. Soak in it. Love it. Done.

0. get an idea of what you can afford total. Figure on $500-$1000 of that going to site prep, electrical hookup, permits, etc.... ie everything else you need to run the tub. The rest is how much you can spend on a tub.

0.5 if "the rest" is ballpark 6-7K, or more, see #4 in DP's list - if its 3-4K or less, you are in Costco and other budget/value spa territory. There is nothing wrong with either group, but it helps to know what you can afford before you fall in love :D

1 - 11 per DP