Algae Growth

flar822

This is my first year of owning a pre-existing 13,000 gallon Doughboy pool with a sand filter that came with my house. I test the pool regularly and am doing great with my chlorine and pH levels. I run the pump and filter at least 8 hours/day, usually more due to the family using the pool so much.

However, the pool temp is rising and as a direct result, I am getting algae growth, only on the bottom, not the sides of the pool.

I am very skeptical of the pool store "experts" who so far seem to continually suggest the most expensive algicide products. Any suggestions out there?

This is my first year of owning a pre-existing 13,000 gallon Doughboy pool with a sand filter that came with my house. I test the pool regularly and am doing great with my chlorine and pH levels. I run the pump and filter at least 8 hours/day, usually more due to the family using the pool so much.

However, the pool temp is rising and as a direct result, I am getting algae growth, only on the bottom, not the sides of the pool.

I am very skeptical of the pool store "experts" who so far seem to continually suggest the most expensive algicide products. Any suggestions out there?

You need to monitor more than just chlorine and pH....What type of chlorine are you using (pucks, liquid, etc.)?

What is your stabilizer level (CYA, Cyanuric acid)? These factors are important. Please post a full set of test results for free chlorine, total chlorine, pH, total alkalinity, calcium hardness, and CYA.. Then it will be possible to see what is going on in your pool. Bottom line...if a pool is properly chlorinated, pH and other parameters are in line, and stabilizer level is taken into account the pool will NOT grow algae!

Dear friend ,

whatis suggested in the earlier reply is right. Check all parameters. esp. pH ( 7.2 - 7.4) and Total alkal;inity ( 200 - 300 ppm). If they r Ok.. then 'shock ' your pool by increasing Cl- level to 10 pppm for one day.

Algae will vanish.