Chlorine Or Bromamiwhatever?

anewby

I am completely new to hot tubs and never did too well in Chemistry either... I have considered looking into "all natural" alternatives- as though that isn't a big marketing ploy anyway... and can't bring myself to spend that kind of money without knowing more about the benefits... and additional facts about chemicals. Can someone recommend something for people who are particularly green (pun intended) to treating water?

I am currently battling the clear green water- that smells really strong- with Spa Time Brominating granules (1-2 x/wk) and we were shocking it with dissolving shock tabs after each use (or at the end of the night). It stays covered all the time and I clean the filters out 1-2 x/month. We have had it for less than a month.

other stats:

ph is good/ on the low end

TA is good/ on low end

Br/ Cl tested low a few days ago and is high now that I added brominating stuff... I give up??

How long has the water been in the tub? What did you put in when you first started it up? How long has the water been green? You might want to take a sample in to a pool store and get it professionally tested -- many places do that for free.

As far as I can tell from reading this forum, none of the so-called "natural" alternatives are effective sanitizers on their own. The mineral cartridges are reported as being helpful as an aid to a bromine or chlorine system.