Bromine Or Lithium?

Hey all! Just got my new tub in. They are offering me a choice between a Bromine (Rendezvous) or Lithium Start Up Kit. From the reading I have done on this forum I gather that Di Chlor is preferable over Bromine as you are not constantly in a chemical bath. I am a COMPLETE NOOB (and flunked Chemistry in high school) so I am looking for the easiest format.

1- Is Lithium Di Chlor? If not which is easier to maintain Bromine or Lithium?

2- The Taylor K-2106 kit I have reading about is only for Bromine set ups correct?

3- Can someone provide a definitive Pro and Con for Bromine and Lithium?

Thank you once again! :wacko:

1- Is Lithium Di Chlor? If not which is easier to maintain Bromine or Lithium?

No, it is lithium hypochlroite, an unstablized chlorine. It is really no different from using Sodium Hypochlorite (liquid chlorine or bleach) in terms of water chemisitry. it IS the most expensive form of chlorine you can buy! That is the main reason why it is not used as often as other forms of chlorine. Calcium hypochlorite is the other unstabilized chlorine and it will increase calcium hardness. Too high a calcium hardness can lead to scaling in your tub.

Dichlor is stabilized clorine, the problem with it is that it increases the stabilizer (cyanuric acid) level in the water very quickly and the water becomes overstabilized and the chlorine becomes ineffective at santizing. When this happens it is very possible and probable for pseudomonos (which causes "hot tub itch") and other nasties to grow in the water even if the chlorine levels are high! This is the reason that some State health departments have outlawed stabilized chlorine in hot tubs. IMHO, a small amount of stabilizer is needed in a chlorine system if it is exposed to sunlight or the chlorine will burn off in about half an hour of direct sun.