Backwash Valve Problems, Higher Pressures, De Filter Lid Lifting Up

smokey

I've been maintaining our spa for 11 years since it was built and ran into a new set of problems. All of these things were discovered at the same time, but I don't know if they are related.

1. The backwash valve (pictured below) when moved to the backwash position feels good and appears to operate correctly, but I'm guessing maybe 10% of the contaminated filter water is deposited back into the clean spa.

2. The filter pressures are/were higher. Normal pressure for the filter pump is 26 psi, increasing to 34 psi when the booster pump is used. That increased to 34/40 psi last night until I backwashed. I've never seen pressures go that high. After the backwash, the filter pump returned to about 26 psi at first, then crept up to 28-29 psi. Usually, after a backwash it returns to 26 psi and holds there. The spa has not been used much since I disassembled the filter and did a full cleaning, so none of these behaviors would be considered normal.

3. While standing at the service panel, I noticed the lid on the DE filter raises up against the clamp when the filter pump is activated. Not much, we're talking 1/16" to 1/8". I've stood at the service panel hundreds of times previously and this has never happened until last night. Makes me a little concerned the pressure gauge could be defective (on the low side) in addition to all the other problems. The gauge was showing 28 psi when I noticed the lid movement.

Any ideas? I plan to disassemble the filter with the pressure safely exhausted tomorrow.

IMG_20150608_235215344.jpg