Leaving For 2 Weeks

Boonzer

:(

I have a brand new Arctic frontier....

I'm going to have to leave it for 2 weeks in April.... what do I do.

Since I'm new at this, I have to admit I'm a little terrified.

I'm afraid of creating 2" of green goo, who will in turn drink the beer out of my fridge and trash my place when I'm gone. :blink:

Assuming that your neighborhood isn't prone to power outages...turn down the temp 'cuz there's no sense in keeping it at soaking temp while you're gone and turn it back up when you get home. I've got a Frontier, too, and it's been humming along just fine ever since I got it 14 months ago. I'm headed off to warmer climes B) , myself, in a coupla weeks and I'm not concerned at all. When I return, I'll shock it, turn up the temp and hop in it the following day and dream about the turquoise blue water I was snorkeling in just a few days prior.

If you are going for a long time, you need to have someone come and check it. If the spa stops for anyreason it can freeze under extended down time. Two weeks in April in the US is one thing, but if you are up where it is cold longer, then get someone to watch it.

If you do a good clean up shock and adjust the pH and Total Alk you sould be fine. If you are using bromine be sure to set the feeder almost off, because when you return the bromine will be sky high.

I never recommend turning down the temp, but I do recommend longer filter cycles in cold places to lower the energy costs, up to 24 hours a day, doesn't hurt as long as the spa water is not gaining in heat more than a couple of degrees. The heat from the filter pump creates a thermal warm air barrier that stops heat losses and stops the use of the electric heater as much as is possible.

http://www.soundclick.com/havehead

:(

I have a brand new Arctic frontier....

I'm going to have to leave it for 2 weeks in April.... what do I do.

Since I'm new at this, I have to admit I'm a little terrified.