New Tub, N2, Ozanator: What Formula?

Kiz

I bought a new tub and it's being delivered in 6 days. (can't wait!) I had my old tub for 9 years and it held up well, but I want to do things perfect with the new tub.

The new tub has a built-in ozanator. I also am considering using the N2 product so I can use less chemicals. I read Nitro's water management system. It was a great read, and I appreciate that he took the time to post it. How does an ozanator and the N2 change what he wrote?

Thanks.

Hi Kiz, welcome to the forums.

For the most part the Water Balance section applies regardless of the sanitation method. Your ozonator will add more air to the tub, therefore increasing pH rise (creep). Also, it would be good for you to learn to use chlorine too. If you want to use the N2 system, at least you'll have a good understanding of water sanitation in general.

I'm not an expert on the N2 system, so maybe some others can weigh in also. From what I know you still need to keep some (1-2 ppm) Free Chlorine (FC) in your tub. Also, IMO, I wouldn't trust the N2 system alone if you have high bather loads. i.e. a lot of people in your tub or long soaks. The good news is you can use the N2 system with low FC when it's just a couple/few people in the tub for a short time. Then if you have a high bather load you can just add more chlorine (3-6 ppm FC). Afterward, just let FC drop back to 1-2 ppm.

If I had a problem with chlorine, I'd use the N2 system. But to be honest, if you maintain your chlorine levels properly, you can't even tell you have chlorine in the water. I have guests complement me on my fresh/non-chlorine smelling water all the time. I've converted four friends to using the Dichlor/Bleach method. Two came from using Bromine, one came from using a Copper System similar to N2, and the other was using pool chlorine (Trichlor, that's not good to use in hot tubs).

Hope that helps.