Tissue-like, Mucus In Water

Hello All

This is my first time here. My name is Jackie and I live in SE Georgia. I have just moved into a house on the marsh which has a hot tub on an upper deck which is roofed and screened. Water temp without heater is about 86 deg. The previous owners thought it was 15-17 years old. It is a Baja octagon shape, acrylic, I think (shiny marbley finish) and holds about 800 gallons of water. It is 8' by 8' and about 30" deep. They had not used it for 2-3 years and it had water in it when we bought the house but they said it had been empty pror. The water didn't look too bad considering but we drained it anyway and scrubbed it all down with bleach and it was sparkling. We have excellent well water. We have a water softener attached and a pervector for sulphur. Using a test kit there is no chlorine, the ph and total alkalinity is in the ideal range.

After filling we put the recommended amount of bromine tablets in a floater and kept adjusting until it was in the ideal range.

There are only 2 of us (adults) and we use it about 2 hrs/day. The filtration system runs about 12 hrs/day.

After about 5-7 days of use these filmy tissue like strands, mucus looking, started showing up in the water. They were also clinging to the thermometer string and the plastic around the jets. If I could manage to get one out of the water, it was mucus like, mostly clear with some white. Also every day an unpleasant odor got more prounounced. I thought it might be the bromine smell. By the eigth day the water was very cloudy and when you turned on the air for the jets the smell was sewer-like.

I drained it scrubbed it, hosed off all the "mucus', drained it out and kept hosing and emptying until it was all gone.

I then refilled and started her up. Again the same cycle took place with the pieces starting to appear after about 3-4 days.