Ph Gone Wild!

I am a Certified Pool Operator at a Courtyard Hotel, with a 15,000 gallon pool.

Three days ago the readings and water quality of my hotels inside pool were fine.

Two mornings ago when I came in the water was immensely cloudy with a 0 chlorine reading and a low Ph. I added chlorine (2-1lb. bags of 'Chlor Brite to shock the pool + pucks with the feeder wide open), clarifier (A total of 1 qt. over the day) and 'Alkalinity Plus' (About 3 lbs.).

Yesterday morning the readings were about the same but the water half as cloudy. I added chlorine (1-1lb. bags of 'Chlor Brite to shock the pool) and 'Alkalinity Plus' (About 3 lbs.). I never achieved the desired results for either day.

I've added about five pounds of 'Alkalinity Plus' over the last two days.

Today, o chlorine (However the water much clearer) and a Ph that requires 40 drops of base demand reagent to achieve a 7.6 Ph. Also: Total Alkalinity = 100ppm, Calcium = 220ppm.

I just added 10lbs. of 'Alkalinity Plus' and 16 ounces, of sodium bicarbonate, now the Ph only requires 30 drops of base demand reagent to achieve a 7.6 Ph, and the Total Alkalinity is now at 200ppm.

I don’t think that I am getting a false chlorine reading but am not really sure, thus I'm worried about adding more shock.

I plan as of the moment is to go and get more Ph rise.

Any one have comments or suggestions?

Thank You,

Froggy

Froggy,

First of all, Chlor-Brite is Dichlor and you should never, never use Dichlor to shock a pool. For every 1 ppm Free Chlorine (FC) added by Dichlor, you also add 0.9 ppm to Cyanuric Acid (CYA). CYA reduces chlorine's effectiveness. It sounds like you got an algae bloom for green algae since that usually starts out with dull and then cloudy water before there is enough algae to become green. 2 pounds of Chlor-Brite (from Leslie's) in 15,000 gallons will increase the FC by 8.9 ppm and the CYA by 8 ppm.