Chlorine Gone After Iron Out

I am new to this pool stuff - so I bought an Intex 18 x 48. I have worked at getting my levels correct, as I live in the country with well water. As of Sunday, my levels were:

Saturation Index: 0.36 Balanced

Total dissolved solids: 0 balanced

Total chlorine 5.0

Free chlorine 5.0

Combined chlorine 0.0

pH 7.6

Adjusted Alkalinity 165

Total Alk 200

Calcuim Hardness 224

Cyanuric acid 0

Iron .03

Coper 0

Total dissolved solids 0

Draining the pool is NOT an option, as the iron in the water is close to leaving due to Metal Free working it - its already removed the copper. :) HOWEVER, I read somewhere on this site that using Iron Out by Summit was okay to use as it gives one instantly clear water - so I did just that, and VIOLA!! The water cleared wonderfully! However, seconds later I had a feeling to test the water via the drop kit I have - I had NO chlorine whatsoever and my PH seemed to have dropped as well! So, I used a test strip - nothing. Both of these worked prior to getting my water tested an hour before. I then found out that Iron Out has a chlorine neutralizer. So, I decided to try to shock it back to a chlorine level I can read. I've added 4 lbs of shock to no avail and getting ready to switch over to bleach in the AM (I've ran out of granulated chlorine). Can someone tell me that this will help bring back chlorine to my water? I'm so disappointed. I've worked very hard to get chlorine to read in my water only to screw it up by adding Iron Out. Ug... :(

I don't use Dichlor as a chlorinator anymore, BTW - I learned early on that it raises the CYA... correct? I'm almost obsessed with this pool! Okay- I have to admit - I AM obsessed with this pool! ;)

GoobyGirl

I am new to this pool stuff - so I bought an Intex 18 x 48. I have worked at getting my levels correct, as I live in the country with well water. As of Sunday, my levels were:

Total chlorine 5.0

Free chlorine 5.0

Combined chlorine 0.0

pH 7.6