Spa Newbie My Experience And Csi Question

Bullfrog

I am a newbie when it comes to spa chemicals and balance but have been doing a lot of reading on this great forum and that has helped tremendously. I have a Master Spa with the Eco-Pur mineral filter. It is a 410 gallon spa that I keep just about an inch above the minimum level so that the neck/shoulder seat hits my wife just right without the water level being too high. I understand from this site that the true volume of water in the spa will be much less, I have been using 350 gallons in the pool calculator for my chemicals, although I don't really know. I am going to measure it on next fill.

I started out using Dichlor and MPS, after doing the first weekly shock using MPS I started getting an itchy back. It really didn't seem like a bacterial issue, because it really wan't a rash with bumps or anything like that, it just itched a lot and got splotchy red when I scratched and no one else in the family had the itchies. Anyway after reading a ton of posts on this site, I decided that I was going to switch to the bleach method and stop using MPS. I got a Taylor test kit and found my CYA was high at 60. So I did a half drain/fill a couple weeks ago to bring that down, rebalanced, added Borates, then started using bleach. My itchy back has gone away, water is clear, no foaming, no odor, my chemicals appear to be pretty stable.

After the rebalance my PH was 7.6 and slowly creeped up over a couple weeks to 7.8 which I understand is common using bleach and with aeration. So I added some Dry Acid to bring that down a little and I assume I'll likely need to do that every couple weeks. Other than that it seems that everything is just steady and easy to maintain by just adding the bleach daily and then dry acid every once in a while.