Algaecide - Will Any Kind Do?

I am new to pools so bear with me. I have a fresh water pool that I treat with chlorine. My local pool supply recommends this algecide that is $20 per 16oz bottle. I have seen other algaecides that go for $8 per gallon. Is my pool supply ripping me off? Well, I know the answer to that already. They are ripping me off. My real question is, can I use any algaecide out there?

Michaelkingdom

I am new to pools so bear with me. I have a fresh water pool that I treat with chlorine. My local pool supply recommends this algecide that is $20 per 16oz bottle. I have seen other algaecides that go for $8 per gallon. Is my pool supply ripping me off? Well, I know the answer to that already. They are ripping me off. My real question is, can I use any algaecide out there?

Michaelkingdom

If you don't use stabilized chlorine (Trichlor or Dichlor) after your Cyanuric Acid (CYA) level gets to a certain point (usual levels are 30-50 ppm), then you can manage your pool using unstabilized chlorine alone by making sure the Free Chlorine (FC) level never drops below 7.5% of the CYA level. If you can't or don't want to do this, then a supplemental algaecide will help prevent algae even if the CYA level climbs from continued use of Trichlor, for example. The best algaecide for this purpose is PolyQuat 60 and it is more expensive than less effective linear quats. Mostly, just pick the algaecide that says something like "poly [oxyethylene (dimethyliminio) ethylene (dimethyliminio) ethylene dichloride]" in the ingredients and is 60% of this chemical.

I would like to simply point out that occasionally it is possible to find a lesser % polyquat available at a price which would make buying it more economical (if you can buy 2 quarts of 30% for less than the price of 1 quart of 60% - you've saved money for the same amount of chem).

I do agree with the other poster that the polyquat is the way to go if an algaecide is required.

Ted,