Bromine Test Question

Tee

I just got my spa installed last week, so I am really new at this. The spa seems more difficult than the pool since there is so little water compared to a 30,000 gallon pool. The last thing I want is a tub that has an odor to the water or that hurts the bathers eyes.

I have decided to use The Spa Time suite of products since it is readily accessible in my area and seems to be reasonably priced.

I added a quart of the pH Balance product and the pH is right where it should be.

Question 1. After I added the pH balance product, the tub developed a gold colored scum that collected on the water line. I scrubbed it off, and cleaned the filter and it seems to be gone now. Can I assume that was the result of the pH Balance combining with any metals in the water? Can I expect that scum if I use the product again on the same water?

Question 2. I am using bromine as a sanitizer and I have also purchased the non chlorine oxidizer product as a shock. Does bromine show up on my strip test as chlorine, or do I need a separate test kit for bromine? I added the recommended dose of the granulated Bromine, but I do not get a reading on the chlorine test.

TIA for your help.

I am very new to this water chemistry stuff, but I will try to help...if I can.

Question 1 -- I don't know for sure what may have caused this problem. If it was the metals in the water, you can use a metal sequesterant to help with the removal of any metals before you add anything else to the water that may interact with these metals.