Fc/cya Ratio

DickP3

Hi chem geek

My background is chemistry and biology and I'm interested in the information that led to the ratio of 4 ppm FC to 20 ppm CYA. I have tried searching this board for it but can't seem to find it. Can you point me to it?

Thanks

Start with this thread including the PoolEquations.zip link to a ZIPped spreadsheet near the end of the first post. The original 1973/1974 paper with the equilibrium constants of the chlorinated cyanurates is not online and I had to go to a university archives to find it, but the same data from it (with a minor exception for some pKa constants of CYA) may be found in this EPA PDF file on document page 12 (PDF page 18). If you find any errors in the spreadsheet, please let me know. It's been quite stable for quite some time so I think any errors have been flushed out of it, but you never know. Most people don't know enough about the chemistry to be able to validate it, but you can always take the end results of the calculations and see that they are consistent with the equilibrium constants (adjusted for ionic strength) which is what I've done to try and find any errors (that, plus some debugging checks I have).

For disinfection rates, see this post where you will see the sources for the 30-50 CT values for the bacteria that causes "hot tub itch", Pseudomonas aeruginosa, though realize that I've seen another older source with a far lower CT value (< 0.2) for this same bacteria.

You should understand that the pool/spa industry (mostly chemical manufacturers) says that such chemistry cannot be directly applied to "real pools" and they refer to a study they did to prove that. I discuss it in this thread where I link to that study and do some analysis and give my (different) interpretation of the results. Again, if you see any flaws in the reasoning or have a different interpretation of the data, please let me know. I only want to find the truth, to the extent it can be known.