Balboa M7 sensor question

I rented a house for 3 months.  One of the main reasons was it came with a hot tub.  This is my first time with a hot tub experience and boy am I learning a lot already.  The model is a dreammaker Balboa rs101 board.

I get all the supplies, change the water, turn it on and get a flashing Sn error code alternating with the temperature.  Contact the landlord and landlord tells me its my responsibility to take care of the hot tub if I want to use it (which is BS) but long story is I work with this person's husband and I don't want to make it awkward.

So I start researching and it seems its a temperature sensor, look up the part and it seems like a simple fix and not worth arguing with the real estate property manager over it for a 30 dollar part.  I order the part, change it out and get the same error message still.  I read its unlikely that both sensors will go out but who knows. 

I put the board into test mode and sensor A is 65 and sensor B is 69, I swap the positions and it still says sensor A is 65 and sensor B is 69.  I swapped the old sensor with the other old sensor and kept the new one in and it still says A is 65 and B is 69 with alternating Sn. 

Do I just give up at this point?  Or do I try one last thing and get another sensor and this way I've swapped both out.  I'm not wanting to spend hundreds-thousands of dollars to fix someone else's hot tub.

Thanks in advance for reading the long story.

On 1/28/2023 at 6:44 PM, dannyelectron said:

I read its unlikely that both sensors will go out but who knows.

So I had a temperature sensor fail on my 2019 Hotspring (covered under warranty).  General rule of thumb for Watkins/Hotspring is to replace both temperature sensors under warranty with the thinking that if one failed from a batch, there is a statistical increase in the odds that the second one did or can fail again.