Spa Temp was Low, Heater Connection to Board Fried

rmcderm313

Hi All,

I'm nearing the point where I turn this tub into a planter.  I went out to test the water for NYE festivities, and while the temp was set to 89, the actual temp was 84.  The 24 HR circulation pump was running strong. I removed the control panel cover and opened the spa-pac and I could visibly see one of the connections to the heater sizzling/arcing.  I shut down the GFCI immediately and took these pictures.  I can't be sure how long this was happening but I haven't opened the cover in 2 days.  It may have been going on for a while.

This is a Thermospa -Manhattan (not sure that matters), with a balboa board and heater.

I'm assuming the board has been ruined, but can someone give me a better sense of what might have been damaged?  I actually have a spare board that came with the tub.

Any thoughts as to a cause?  I've been running this heater for a few months now with no issues at all.  I don't see any water damage on the board and everything is dry under the tub.  Does the heater need to be replaced?  How do I check on the heater's state.

I'm so frustrated right now.  I need to settle down and think clearly.  It doesn't help that here in MA we are approaching deep freeze weather so I need to fish or cut bait with this repair, else risk the water freezing.  No such thing as a 'free' hot tub. And I just got the bleach/dichlor method down perfect.

Thanks,

Rob

IMG_1257.jpg

IMG_1250.jpg

IMG_1252.jpg

IMG_1253.jpg

Also if anyone might have a place where I could find a Balboa 55690 heater replacement or equivalent that would be greatly appreciated as well.  Balboa Direct has them back ordered and I cannot find a reference for a replacement part.

Where I'm fearful of freezing temps, would it be better to disconnect the heater and turn the tub back on?  Would circulation be better at this point?

Thanks,

Rob

Please tell me that spa is properly wired on a gfci breaker...