Help with bromine levels/oxidizer in hot tub

Sueberry

I'm new to owning a hot tub and wanted to see if anyone could help with some confusion I have regarding bromine tablets, and bromine concentrate. I recently refilled our hot tub and was told to add brominating concentrate (one step sanitizer and oxidizer) initially to start and then use bromine tablets in a floater. Then I was told to add 2 TBSP of the brominating concentrate weekly as maintenance along with the bromine tablets in the floater. When I did that my bromine stayed high for long periods. So, then I was told to only add the brominating concentrate if the bromine dropped to a low level with the use of the floater. But I also read that it's necessary to use an oxidizer weekly to properly sanitize the hot tub. I'm just confused. Can anyone please clarify this for me? Should I not be adding the brominating concentrate weekly unless bromine is low? If this is the case, do I need to add anything else to properly sanitize the hot tub?

Thank you RDspaguy...I looked through your links, but didn't find the answer to my queston exactly. I'm not having trouble with bromine levels dropping. My question is should I use Brominating Concentrate (the one I have is Spa guard and has sodium dichloro-s-triazinetrione 82.5% and sodium bromide 14.7%) as weekly maintenance to destroy organic wastes? The back of the bottle refers to it as "super oxidization". I wasn't sure if I should be doing this weekly regardless of the bromine levels or just when the bromine level falls in the low range? I currently don't have another oxidizer just the one that has the bromide and oxidizer.