measuring low level of chlorine (around .3 -- .7 ppm)

DougA

Nothing that I know of reads that low. You shouldn't shoot for that level, it's just still ok if it gets that low. One person will burn off over 3ppm in an hour. If you start at .5 you will have high contaminant levels before you know it. 

Do you have ozone? If so, shock after each use with chlorine and let the ozone burn it off so your levels are low when you next use it.

Based on what I read from @dlleno and his blog 1-3ppm will allow for biofilm to establish. I'm aiming for a constant 4-7ppm in my tub personally. But I'm not an expert 🙂

Why does  "Hot Tub Serum" work so well?

Recall that in Part 1 of this series (referenced above), I highlighted that biofilms can survive Chlorine concentrations of 1-3ppm -- levels that some authorities still promote. 

And there are certain bacteria that secrete a mucous layer that are TOTALLY chlorine resistant. These are what primarily form a biofilm. Otherwise, a simple superchlorination would kill it and Ahh-Some would be unnecessary. 

And you must have exposure to the contaminant to get it growing in your tub. It's not in the fill water. Municipal water sources do not have biofilm in the pipes, and do not treat with Ahh-Some. It generally takes poor chemistry to allow it to start even with exposure.

The long exposure time to silver and copper (as well as other metals) in the water will penetrate this layer and prevent the biofilm from developing in the first place. At least that is what some studies I have read suggest.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.who.int/water_sanitation_health/publications/silver-02032018.pdf%3Fua%3D1&ved=2ahUKEwifybyc6PPpAhUVTTABHezWBd4QFjALegQIChAB&usg=AOvVaw1No2ToAf-BERlLvKEYhdj_

With the Nature2, they recommend testing MPS before getting in, using MPS after each use, and using a Dichor when there are clear problems.  (see attached directions).