Combined chlorine increased after shocking? Please help, I’m new to this!

JGhottub

Hello. I am new to this forum and also a fairly new hot tub owner. I am having trouble with my chlorine levels, specifically getting rid of combined chlorine. For the first couple months I was just using non-chlorine shock and a chlorine floating thing. After doing more research I realized I should also be using chlorine shock. So last night my FC was at 5.0 and by CC was at 1.2. I threw in 2 Tbs of Dichlor (that’s how much the instructions said to use to get my FC to 12) and left the jets on and lid off for an hour. 12 hours later I tested it and my FC is at 11.2 and CC is 2.4. Why has my CC doubled?  I thought the shock was supposed to kill it?

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Jghottub,

I think you might have your reading wrong. There is 3 different factors when reading Chlorine.

"FC" Free Chlorine

"TC" Total Choline 

"CC" Combined Chlorine

When you are testing your water with a reagent test kit using drops. You are testing FC & TC. The CC is what you get when you subtract the two together. For Ex....

FC = 2.0  TC = 3.0  : CC = 1.0

Now the problem you are having is your not reaching "BREAKPOINT". This is a chemical term used in the pool and spa industry that allows you to overcome the CC levels in pools and spas.

The formula is a little more complex because you need to know the chemical numbers to match up. But here is the basics

TC - FC = CC

CC x 10 = Desired Free Chorine Level

Desired Level - Existing free Chlorine = Adjustment 

Now that we have the basics lets get more complex.

(A) Amount of chemical indicated by label   x   (B) Actual spa volume /(B2)Divided by product label gallons (most say 300 or 500 gallons) = (b3)  x (C)Desired chemical Change aka adjustment / Divided by Product label by PPM (usually 1ppm) = (C3)

(A)  x (B3) x (C3) = your number

If you do not put the right amount to over take the CC you will always fight the ever climbing CC.