First Fill - Water Chemicals and Testing

Rayf01

So, I got my hot tub back together with the new motor/pump and seals. This is my first time filling it, so I had the local store test my tap water, results below:

TDS: 250 ppm

Alkalinity: 110 ppm

PH 7.4

Calcium: 130 ppm

Free Chlorine 4ppm 

Combined Chlorine 0ppm

Iron: 0 ppm

Copper: 0ppm

So with the above results I have a few questions:

1. With my TDS at 250, however my iron and copper at 0, do I really need to use any additive to remove metals and prevent staining upon the first fill? I have spoke to other people in the area and they never do.

2. My alkalinity and PH seem to be bang on out of the tap. Therefore I shouldn't need to add anything at all right now right?

3. I added some Calcium Hardness Increasing to try bring my calcium up to the 150-200 range so I will test that shortly, buts its the only thing I can think of for balancing right now that I need to do I believe?

4. Shocking and Sanitizing: Can I just use Chlorine Granules and Super Chlorinate, or should I be using an initial non chlorinated shock first, then do the chlorine later?

5. Is Free Chlorine the level of Chlorine I need in my spa to stay between 3ppm adn 5 ppm or is it the combined chlorine? My Free is already at 4ppm out of the tap.

6. A friend gave me chemicals from his spa that he just sold with a house. I have two types of chlorine granules. One says CHLOR on the bottle and is 65% Calcium Hypochlorite. The second says Stablized Chlorine Granules and is 100% Sodium Dichloro-S-Triazinetrione. Which is the better one to use to sanitize my spa?

7. Should a person use chlorine pucks in a floater to maintain the chlorine level instead of having to add granules all the time?

8. Also, how do I convert grams to something useful like cups? Or do you have to measure the weight of all your chemicals? The chemicals are all instructed in grams. Since particles from one chemical can weigh more than another should I be using a scale?