Palin vs Taylor

Poolguy55

I'm a pool operator and look after 30 commercial pools, recently our pool inspectors have switched to the Palin test kit.

Since that switch every pool they go to they get between 8-8.4 PH even though our Taylor kits read 7.4-7.6, I have a Palin myself now and can confirm high PH readings on all samples.

Also combined chlorine seem to be an issue with the Palin.

example: I have a salt pool(hotel), I keep the chlorine between 3-5ppm and got a combined reading of 1ppm using the Taylor DPD titrate, pool inspector got 1.8ppm(Palin) I closed the pool for 2 days, added 20 litres of liquid chlorine and then lowered with 8KG of Chlor-out. After shocking I got .40ppm for combined, inspector got 2.8ppm. So closed again for 5 days and shocked again, I got 0.00ppm after and she got 3.60ppm and closed the pool. Eventually we just drained the pool and refilled and she opened it again.

Any thoughts on the Palin, sometimes it seems ok but others it's way off the Taylor

That health official should verify her results. Is she closing a lot of pools lately? If so, does it seem unusual for her? Does she have a backup system? Sounds like you are spending a lot of money trying to fix something that doesn't need fixing. Could it help to have a conversation with the health department along these lines? Maybe ask them to use a Taylor kit to cross-check?

Yes we had a meeting with them 6 weeks ago. They told us that they have instructed their inspectors to "trust the Palin". Also they told us that the Taylor kits are crap even though that's what they recommend in their pool operators course. I have asked many of the inspectors to double check with their Palin kit and when they do they can't replicate their own readings, for example one test was 1.2ppm for combined and the next was 2.6ppm, but they are right.