Ozonator Affecting Chlorine Readings

RonB01

Another newbie here. I just bought a Hot Springs Vanguard. The saleswoman says that the ozonator will cause the chlorine test to read lower than actuality. Is this fact or fluff?

Thanks to this forum for the information leading to my purchase, and hopefully taking some of the pain out of the initial learning curve :-)

Regards,

RonB

Half correct. Chlorine and ozone tend to destroy each other. Ozone reduces chlorine sanitizer into chloride ions in the water and in the process is converted into oxygen. Ozone CAN lower the chlorine levels in the water and they will then test lower than you expect then to. That means you need to add additional chlorine to compensate for that.

Thanks, Waterbear. Off to the store this afternoon to (hopefully) get a decent test kit.

Your best bet is a Taylor K-2006. Don't get the K-2005. The K-2006 has a MUCH better and easier to read chlorine test and it has a much wider range. Otherwise the kits are identical and will test all the parameters you need in a chlorine spa.

If you cannot find the K-2006 locally (which is usually the case) it can be ordered directly from Taylor Technologies and from various online retailers.

Amato Industries has one of the lowest prices but I have heard that their shipping times are slow.

Well, the dealer sent a handful of chemicals but no test anything, not even test strips. How do they expect someone to be happy with a hot tub without being able to properly take care of the water? Maybe they figure ignorance is bliss, and bad water maintenance will allow them to deny warranty claims :-(

The local pool store had a couple types of test strips and one really lame looking drop kit: it only tested two things! So, let's try something else...

Anyway, I let my fingers do the walking to try and get a test kit quickly.