Testing Equipment

CT-Mike

Anyone use pipettes for accurate sample results? If so, where is a good source for finding them?

Thanks,

Mike

I use a Taylor pH test (midget comparator K-1285-2) whose titrant is dispensed with a type of pipette. The pipettes are available in a number of titrating water tests sold by Taylor and separately for small change (a dollar or two) but I imagine any pharmeceutical supply house carries these and others as well. The pH test's pipette (see link below for photo) can be threaded to a 3/4 oz bottle of titrant. However, I don't much care for them -- you have to be careful in the amount of titrant that is drawn up and be sure it's emptied completely into the sample tube (the 5 and 10 mL square tubes used in the midget comparators are also a bit tricky to work with -- they don't like to stand up on a counter top). Other companies sell higher quality volumetric pipettes but I have no experience with these.

http://www.taylortec...mentPartID=2076

Polyvue,

I was thinking more along the lines of using a volumetric pipette to deliver a more accurate volume of water to be tested, ie: 10, 25, and 44 ml.

Thanks,

Mike

Hello Mike,

Got it. Interesting proposition. I rely on the marks on the graduated cylinder (sample tube) supplied with the tests and try to line up the meniscus (lower portion of c curve observed near the top of a solution) with those marks. Do you think that tweaking the sample volume might produce a significant increase in test result accuracy?

Greg

Hello Mike,

Got it. Interesting proposition. I rely on the marks on the graduated cylinder (sample tube) supplied with the tests and try to line up the meniscus (lower portion of c curve observed near the top of a solution) with those marks. Do you think that tweaking the sample volume might produce a significant increase in test result accuracy?

Greg