Can I Fix A Leaky Pvc Pipe?

I'm a newbie to this forum. Have a 13,000 gallon 14' x 28' inground pool, with a Hayward D.E. filter. After opening our pool yesterday, my husband and I noted a small, dripping leak coming from underneath the area near where two PVC pipes connect. (These PVC pipes are visible, above ground).

Last year, same scenario (but a nearby pipe fixture) cost us $160 to have the Pool installer plumbing expert come out and repair it (plus 2-3 days loss of swim time).

Can we do anything (tape? glue? or ?) to patch it and save $160? Thanks in advance; money is very tight now, as I've been unemployed for 14 months and could use any suggested "patch."

Thanks!

I'm a newbie to this forum. Have a 13,000 gallon 14' x 28' inground pool, with a Hayward D.E. filter. After opening our pool yesterday, my husband and I noted a small, dripping leak coming from underneath the area near where two PVC pipes connect. (These PVC pipes are visible, above ground).

Last year, same scenario (but a nearby pipe fixture) cost us $160 to have the Pool installer plumbing expert come out and repair it (plus 2-3 days loss of swim time).

Can we do anything (tape? glue? or ?) to patch it and save $160? Thanks in advance; money is very tight now, as I've been unemployed for 14 months and could use any suggested "patch."

Thanks!

3M 08101 Structural Adhesive worked for me for PVC pressure piping. It's urethane, not epoxy. In shear adhesion test with rigid PVC,

the PVC breaks before the adhesive bond (2000 PSI).

For even more strength, fiberglass cloth can be embedded in the patch. I patched our sand filter base which was broken into 3 pieces and used fiberglass mat for reinforcing.

Wear disposable gloves, and plan your application, because it sets rapidly.

http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_U...CglXQ8JG35VSMbl

http://www.handsontools.com/3M-08101-Struc...90-reviews.html