What Is The Cheapest Most Efficient Way To Heat A Pool?

Whatever you use, a $100 investment in a solar blanket will help, especially for retaining the heat when pool is not being used.

From my own experience, a light blue, 12-mil solar blanket is probably the best all-around choice:

I am installing an inground vinyl liner pool and would like to know the cheapest most effective way to heat the new pool.

Heat pump- - Gas- - or- - Electric

Please give me your feedback. Thanks

B)

I am installing an inground vinyl liner pool and would like to know the cheapest most effective way to heat the new pool.

Heat pump- - Gas- - or- - Electric

Please give me your feedback. Thanks

B)

Hello,

I would say wood, if you have access to it.

I am new to the form and wanted to share information on a wood burning pool heater.

I constructed the system from about $230 worth of material and it had taken about 6 hours.

It is heating a 30,000 gallon pool, raising it about 5 deg F per day. The system does not look

out of place, but you be the judge.

I will try to enclose a photo.

If I can't please respond with an email address and I will send it to you.

Thanks.

-Mark

Without a doubt, an electric heat pump is the most efficient. The down side is, with ~110,000 BTU output, it may take a few days to heat the pool to the desired temp. Gas units usually have a much higher BTU output and can heat the pool sometimes in one day to a few hours. The down side is, you may need to install a 2" gas line to the unit. This will cost you bigtime on the gas bill.

Without a doubt, an electric heat pump is the most efficient. The down side is, with ~110,000 BTU output, it may take a few days to heat the pool to the desired temp. Gas units usually have a much higher BTU output and can heat the pool sometimes in one day to a few hours. The down side is, you may need to install a 2" gas line to the unit. This will cost you bigtime on the gas bill.