Water Is Green! What Do I Do?

JB800

Hi, I am fairly new to hot tubs. I had my tub approx. 4 months. At the start up I was using chlorinated granules. I used it for approx 3 months. Last month I switched to bromine. A month into useing bromine, all my levels on the test strip dropped. Now my water turned green! What did I do wrong? Do I drain it and start over? Do I go back to chlorine? Help???

Hi, I am fairly new to hot tubs. I had my tub approx. 4 months. At the start up I was using chlorinated granules. I used it for approx 3 months. Last month I switched to bromine. A month into useing bromine, all my levels on the test strip dropped. Now my water turned green! What did I do wrong? Do I drain it and start over? Do I go back to chlorine? Help???

Hi: I am having the same problem with Bromine...nice non-smelling green water after a few days. I am switching to ECOONE and will let you know how I make out. I also am new to the hot-tub thing...two months into it. From all I read on these forums it looks like copper in the water. I have my hottub at the cottage and use well water to fill....will perform total drain/clean of the hottub/filters etc., refill with filter on the water hose and move to ECOONE system. Later

Hi: I am having the same problem with Bromine...nice non-smelling green water after a few days. I am switching to ECOONE and will let you know how I make out. I also am new to the hot-tub thing...two months into it. From all I read on these forums it looks like copper in the water. I have my hottub at the cottage and use well water to fill....will perform total drain/clean of the hottub/filters etc., refill with filter on the water hose and move to ECOONE system. Later