Jump to content


(April 12, 2014) POOLSPAFORUM.COM SITE UPGRADE!


Photo
- - - - -

Viking Spa Issues


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 11:25 PM

Recently bought a Viking spa from a private seller, I believe it is a 2005 Viking Eclipse.  Anyways, it has a Balboa VKV500 pack in it.  Well, I have managed to get everything working but high speed on the jets.  When I try and kick the jets on high, it hums loud for about 2 seconds and then shuts off the spa. What is confusing me is the back of the control pack lid has the illustration of the different components in the spa, well, it states that it is a 120v pump, 220v heater, and 12v light. There is a 230v pump in the spa.  Is it a typo on the illustration or has someone at some point and time put a 230v pump into a 120v system?  Jets work fine on low speed. If it is supposed to be a 230v pump, what would cause it to hum?  I don't think its a low power to the spa issue, as all the wiring is new.  Any thoughts?



#2 Roger

Roger

    Spa Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,090 posts

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:18 AM

Check the voltage at the pump.


Independent repair technician.
Part Time

#3 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:52 PM

Pump voltage is 120v on the red wire, 120v on the black wire, and then white and green are grounds.  Seems to be this way in low or high.



#4 Roger

Roger

    Spa Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,090 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:30 PM

If the pump is a 240V pump. You have 240V at the pump so you may have a pump going bad. Unless the high speed relay is bad.


Independent repair technician.
Part Time

#5 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:04 PM

Well, whats confusing me, is the pack says its supposed to have a 120v pump.  Starting to think it has something to do with the pack, as the jets will not shut off either.  Any reason I can't put a Balboa VS501Z pack into it? 



#6 Roger

Roger

    Spa Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,090 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:53 AM

No reason, That's a good choice. It will work with both 120 and 240 pump motors.


Independent repair technician.
Part Time

#7 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 01:40 PM

Well, just my luck.  I had found a VS501Z pack on ebay, used but less than a year old I was planning on getting to save some money over buying a new one.  Well, long story short I remembered 10 minutes after it was over and didn't get it.  So any thoughts where the best place to get one?  Or the chances of finding a good used one?



#8 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:16 PM

Or another thought, it is possible to replace the circuit board to the vs501z board so I get the functions I need and just reuse the rest?



#9 Roger

Roger

    Spa Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,090 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:29 AM

Or another thought, it is possible to replace the circuit board to the vs501z board so I get the functions I need and just reuse the rest?

 

Ummmmmmm. That's above my head.


Independent repair technician.
Part Time

#10 jeremyh

jeremyh

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 05:58 AM

Unplug pumps black wire then start spa, if high speed works... You need to replace the bad relay, or change circuit board. Depending on your skill level that is.
Jacuzzi certified Tech. I know and can fix any Spa, if not it is junk. I specialize in Jacuzzi, Master, Caldera, Viking. 7+ years hands on experience.

#11 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:33 PM

Unplugged black wire, and high speed works.  So my motor is good, which is a relief.  Changing the relay isn't a problem, however figuring out which one is the right one, well thats another story.  Going to try and see if I can find that information anywhere.  While I was at it, I plugged the black wire back in and unplugged the red wire and powered it back up.  Jets came back on low like normal.  Pushed the button to go to high and the low should have shut off, correct?  Long story short, they didn't.  So the low speed relay is apparently stuck.



#12 Streetstock174

Streetstock174

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:33 PM

And where is the best place to get the relays?



#13 xring600

xring600

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 04:13 AM

And where is the best place to get the relays?

I bought all my relays at Onlinecomponents.com






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

website security