Water Chemistry Comments/questions

lion22

Hello to all. I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I want to start by saying this is an awesome website I ran across whilst trying to educate myself on proper water chemistry, due to my "raised eyebrows" regarding the Bioguard computer readings.

The thread "Bioguard = Run?" was quite the read. I'm blown away by waterbear & chem geek's comments in this thread. I guess I shouldn't be since the water chem industry is probably no different from any other industry making simple stuff appear difficult in hopes of selling you stuff you may/may not need, and/or could use inexpensive alternatives. CYA in the "ideal" range of 30-200 always seemed a bit squirrelly to me.

Now that I'm completely confused as to what is/isn't right/wrong, I would appreciate any advice you can provide to steer me in the direction of having the most "high quality", "cost effective" pool as is humanly possible. Presently, I regret owning a pool as it has become a bigger chore than dealing with teenagers, lol.

I have my latest readout and can provide whatever info needed for the proper guidance. Pls tell me what to provide as I don't want to fill up space with a lot of stuff not needed. Thanks in advance for any advice, and thanks for all of the great reading in this forum and on this website in general.

Sincerely, L22

One of the most important things to understand is the chlorine/CYA relationship. The active chlorine level that disinfects the pool, oxidizes bather waste, and prevents algae growth is proportional to the FC/CYA ratio. So if the CYA climbs due to use of stabilized chlorine (Trichlor and Dichlor), then you need to raise your FC proportionately or you risk getting algae growth if there are sufficient algae nutrients (phosphates and nitrates).