Bromine Hazards And Swim Spas

I have had a swim spa for 8 years now. It's enclosed in a room specifically built for the spa. I am a swim instructor, I keep it heated and I use it year round. I have used Bromine in it since day 1. A week ago, a friend sent me an article about bromine and the hazards it has on your thyroid and the cancers that it causes. I had thyroid issues a few years ago, had part of my thyroid removed. My doctor never suggested that could be a problem, he knew what I did for a living, I spend 4-5 hours a day in my pool! I'm curious if anyone else has experienced thyroid problems. Just Google it.

I'd really like to switch to another product, I'm using Chlorine now in the pool but I'd prefer something more natural, does anyone have any suggestions.

If you were drinking large quantities of spa water, then there might be an issue, but since that is unlikely to have been the case then your thyroid problem was probably not related to your bromine usage and probably why your doctor didn't mention it. The following are some scientific studies in peer-reviewed respected journals (or equivalent summary papers) regarding bromide and the thyroid:

Effects of sodium bromide on the biosynthesis of thyroid hormones and brominated/iodinated thyronines

Metabolism of Bromide and Its Interference with the Metabolism of Iodine

The Effect of Sodium Bromide on Thyroid Function

Interaction of bromine with iodine in the rat thyroid gland at enhanced bromide intake

Bromide in drinking-water (WHO)