Bromine Vs. Chlorine Questions; Seldom Used Spa

mrwrick

I am a relative newbie. I have had great advice here getting my used spa up to running condition and thank all here. Now I am dealing with startup issues over how to sanitize and maintain the water. The Water Chemistry forum has more great information about the how-to. I am ready to follow the steps for the method I choose. My question is: What is the difference between using chlorine vs. bromine as a sanitation medium in a spa that sits idle for weeks at a time? Are there downside issues with either? My spa is a 20 year old HotSpring spa, a Classic "dog bowl" style well suited to me and my wife and friends. It has sat unused for 3 years while i dealt with moving issues and then slow deck construction (another story) and is finally in place, cleaned, ready to be filled, flushed, drained and refilled with new filters and a new sanitation system. We are infrequently at the house where the tub is. It is a vacation property. So, maintenance, testing and water treatment will be done only as often as once or twice a month for a few days each trip. We are on well water with high levels of iron, no filtration, although I bought a SpaStick for the hose. So, what can you tell me about the pros and cons of bromine vs. Chlorine and what do you recommend for sanitation? Thanks to all.

Chlorine won't work in your situation since you need to add it regularly unless you have a saltwater chlorine generator. With bromine, you can have a bromine floater that will last a week or so, but probably won't last for as long as you need only tending to the spa once or twice a month. Do you have an ozonator? With a small bromide bank, it's possible that you could have it maintain a bromine level consistently, but that is tricky to do for such an extended time between visits.